Inside Dexter's Boudoir

My husband and I have been out backpacking twice in the last week and a half. Dexter doesn't like it when we go away - he's a very people-oriented cat - and so when I've been home, he's been stuck to me like glue.

Whatever I'm doing, he's never far away. He is also very, VERY helpful. And so it was that he assisted in numerous little around-the-house projects on this day: taking everything out of my fanny pack and reorganizing it; doing the same to the area under the bathroom sink.

By the afternoon, the cat was exhausted. The light was good and the day was warmer than it's been. So Dexter took to one of his favorite spots: in the box by the sunny deck door windows. My husband pulled the curtain around him to give him some privacy for the big afternoon nap.

I couldn't resist grabbing my camera, sneaking up, leaning off to the side, and peering into Dexter's private space. There was a sideways glance as Dexter looked back up at me: "Can't you see I'm napping here?"  I snapped three quick photos and let him return to his snooze. :-)

The song: John Mellencamp, with A Warmer Place to Sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.