Wanderings & Witterings

By IvarBlipS

Podium

The contemporary art festival Glasgow International opened on 20th April and runs until 7th May. As I was due to meet friends for lunch in Glasgow on Wednesday I thought I'd try to visit one of the exhibits / installations situated on the Forth & Clyde Canal basin near the city centre while I was there.

That turned out to be a mistake - not long after I had started walking along the canal, it turned to rain and soon afterwards to hail. One of the features of contemporary art is its unconventional nature and this exhibit is described as "in, around and surfacing" the canal water. In Wednesday's rain and hail, it seemed that it was most definitely "in" as it certainly didn't appear to be on or above the surface. Oh well, let's leave that for another (preferably dry) day!

However, all was not lost blip-wise as I came across this sculpture near Cowcaddens Fire Station. It is called Podium and is one of eleven legacy sculptures created to commemorate the Glasgow 2014 Commonwealth Games.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.