Tram 2

Some public art on the Danube, with the number 2 tram behind. I've commented several times on how much Budapest changes every time I come. The first time I was here would have been in the mid 1990s, when I was part of a project involving some private lawyers based at ELTE university here. I came several times, and once I brought my son. I must have a look to see whether I brought a camera and took any pictures on those visits. Thereafter, I've probably visited half a dozen times, including twice previously with Mr A. Many corners I now turn in Budapest there are familiar things. But there are also things that I think ought to be familiar - like the Basilica of St Stephen - that I have no memory of seeing in the early visits, and yet it is so enormous and 'statementy', so how can I have missed it? Certainly, I get the impression many parts of the city change enormously between visits, even if some things don't really change, like the vistas across the Danube to Buda.

Hmmm. The things I would do with if I had blipfoto stretching back to 1992, which is approximately when I started travelling regularly for work.

Anyway. Anyway...

A nice little walk along the Danube after breakfast and before work. An interesting day at the conference. But I dipped out at 5pm, and missed the collective dinner so that Mr A and I could spend it together. We had excellent Greek food not too far from the Parliament (picked out from tripadvisor), and then a nice Egri Bikaver near the Basilica before coming back to the hotel for a reasonably early night.

Oodles of photos to edit when I get back to Helsinki.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.