Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

The Spring Walking Festival begins

I drove to Haltwhistle early this morning to see the walkers set off on the coach for Teesdale. I had withdrawn from this 13 mile, very strenuous walk because I could not be sure I was fit enough for the route. All the walkers were early and were on the bus before I arrived. I had to bang on the door to be admitted to grab a photograph. See extra.

I went on the 8 mile walk, Talkin and the Gelt, which was a delight. The Gelt  Woods are always lovely, but today they were very special with lots of early pale green leaves bursting open. There were carpets of wood sorrel and then carpets of wood anemones, plus lots of other woodland plants.

It was sunny all day and perfect walking weather. 

We had lunch by the river and a few people (me included) tried out the swing. Here is Jo, (a new walker with us), enjoying the swing and being watched by Frank (one of the team, hence the high vis vest).

Aggie and Arth behaved beautifully. I'm keeping to the shorter walks for now, until I see how they manage to walk daily.

What a great start to the Festival.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.