Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Meeting people

I was in Hexham early for a haircut - seems much shorter than last time! Then home to set Mum's hair and do a few bits and pieces.

After an early lunch I set out for Gilsland. I wanted to give Aggie her first outing after the injection on Monday, and before my first walk in the festival tomorrow. I did part of the Singing Walk route.

It was a lovely afternoon; perfect weather for walking.

Then I kept meeting interesting people.

My blip is John who was walking with 2 friends. He has yellow daffodils in his hat, but I decided that mono works best and shows off his rings well. The sunglasses add an air of mystery. 

Soon afterwards I met Derek from Vancouver, who is doing the central section of the Hadrian's Wall Trail. Walking in the Vancouver area means that our little hills are hardly noticeable to him and he was completing his walks early every day. 

We sat and chatted about walking and the Walking Festival and so on. I now have an invitation to stay if I go to Vancouver in the future. 

I reached the church in Gilsland in time to talk to two Dutch walkers. I told them about the War Babies who were born in the Gilsland Spa Hotel.

A couple in a car wanted directions to Newcastle.

Then Derek caught up with me and I left him at his hotel before checking out the woods in the Irthing Gorge. Everything is very beautiful. There are celandines, Enchanter's Nightshade, dandelions, wood anemones, alternate leafed golden saxifrage, and bluebells. Yes we will have a bluebell walk in this festival.

On my way back to Gilsland, I stopped to watch a farmer move sheep and lambs from one field to another. The farmer's wife said they had had a challenging time, but are feeling more relaxed now that the weather has improved.

I called to see Maureen, the birthday girl, and put a few pieces in the fiendish circular jigsaw she has on the go.

Looking forward to the festival tomorrow. Note to self: do not moan because I cannot do the long walks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.