Eurosong delivery

I mentioned yesterday that something else was occupying me apart from sorting out my iTunes libraries. This is the story:

I got an unexpected morning call yesterday morning from my friend Frank (one of the guys who's involved in our Grand Prix lunch get-togethers, and whose recently acquired place in Sitges we stayed overnight in during last year's trip to Barcelona). He was calling from the airport, on his way to Amsterdam. He in turn had got a call from a Sitges friend who's a singer/songwriter and is putting in an entry for this year's National Song Contest to select Ireland's song for the Eurovision Song Contest. He'd though that he could submit his entry by email but had now learned that the song had to be submitted on CD along with lyrics and resumé. He'd asked Frank if he could do the needful, Frank had told him he was on his way to Amsterdam, and he in turn asked me if I could sort things out. I agreed, the guy in Sitges sent on the music file and other material by email, and I got down to work.

I did some fancy layout work with the lyrics and resumé, burned the song to CD, and did up a CD label to make it all look that bit more professional and make the entry stand out from the crowd. I was in touch with Phillip (the songwriter/performer) off and on during the day, got his enthusiastic approval for what I'd done, and promised him I'd deliver the package to RTE today. So today's blip is photographic proof that the delivery was indeed made.

RTE's Eurosong programme goes out some time next month. If 'our' song makes it to the final (six go through), I'll definitely make a point of watching, and will obviously have that bit more sense of involvement than I otherwise would have.

========

So, after a week of being constantly two or so days behind with my blip-posting, I'm finally up to date again. I've back-blipped Wednesday and Thursday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.