The Artist's Eye

By ArtistAnnie

Pink Snow

The flowering cherry trees are dropping their petals and it looks like the ground is covered with pink snow. I took this photo outside of La Fiama, a local pizza restaurant near where Helena lives. We went there this morning for brunch. H had French toast and I had a mushroom pizza. And we talked a blue streak as we often do. We talked a lot about Arvin and our feelings about the fact that the anniversary of his death will be here soon. We both miss him and are grieving for his loss. My feelings are complex because I love and miss Arvin. At the same time I am in love with Shelly. The feelings of love fill me with joy. The loss with sadness. And some perhaps strange thoughts. I can imagine the two men meeting and really liking each other. Swirling thoughts and feelings.

When I got home I cleaned my house to be ready for Shelly and his nephew to come over. David is here on the West Coast for business meetings. He arrived today and drove up from Seattle to visit his uncle Shelly. The two came to see my place. Then the three of us went out to dinner at Mikanos a nearby Greek restaurant. I found out they serve four chops on their lamb chop dinner. Four! At lunch they serve two. I brought three of them home to eat another time. Clearly today was not a weight loss kind of day.

I really like Shelly’s nephew. He is fun to talk to and very smart. It is obvious that he really loves Shelly and that the feeling is mutual. I’m glad we will see him soon when we travel to the East Coast in May.

David drove Shelly home on his way back to Seattle. Shelly and I had quiet evenings on our own. I watched Call the Midwife, a show I love and Shelly doesn’t. I’m ready now for a night’s sleep.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.