The second half of life..

By twigs

In need of TLC

Final early start for a session I really needn't have rushed to make!  Still - it was good to be up and about.  It's been a great convention - so many inspirational speakers (Joe Cornish & Steve Gosling were both highlights, and both spoke for the second time this weekend).  It wasn't long before it was all over though and my mind turned to the next element of my holiday - the return home.  Not before meeting K & C at St Claire beach though and enjoying a good natter as we walked in howling winds and freezing cold conditions along a fair bit of the beach.  

Time to head inland - but how to get there?  I looked at the map then followed my memory (through a number of interesting suburbs and past this stoic looking beauty (check out the lay of the land at window level......hills?  Dunedin?  Really?  

Headed out towards Alexandra except my memory hadn't factored in the distance from city to turn-off.  It turned out I turned off early so finished up driving through Maniototo country.  Now that was a good mistake to make!  What magnificent country, despite it being very cold.  And, as [mis]fortune would have it, I ran out of gas soon after parking up for the night........no just-boil-the-jug-to-warm-the-van-up, no cup of tea, no warm water to wash in........nothing for it but an early night tucked up in my snuggly duvet to stay cosy until morning.  It's nice to be out of the city and back into big country :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.