The second half of life..

By twigs

Cheeky kaka - Orokonui

Another early-ish start and a 30 minute drive out to the predator-free bird sanctuary at Orokonui.  Wow!  Despite many hectares of coverage I only managed to make a few hundred metres simply because the abundance of birds and their proximity to us, made it totally unecessary to move further or faster.  The feeding stations were of course, a hive of activity and we seemed to have caught things just right as the sweetened water and seeds were each topped up whilst we watched.  Clearly the birds carry pretty darned good watches as they knew when feed time was!  

Tui and bellbird were in abundance but the most memorable was the kaka or the bush parrot.  I've never seen one before so to have them just metres away from us in 'their' environment was pretty special.  They're actually quite curious birds, as you can tell from this one who was nibbling at the canon-man's finger!  One even took a fancy to my hair and made a swoop at me.  I dodged his advances deftly though he did leave me with a tiny scratch on my cheek lucky those claws missed my eye!!  Such are the hazards of working with wild animals.  A cheeky South Island robin also tried to break into someone's camera bag (maybe it could smell the muesli bar?!)  As is often the case, the time flew by - I will most definitely be back some time when time is more abundant.  A stunning place indeed.

Speakers in afternoon were again totally inspirational (except for one........not a single image of his own.....he seemed to be talking to us as though we were his students).  By late afternoon it was a quick hop back 'home' to shower and ready for a 6.30 start back at the venue for the formal Honours banquet.  This is the event where those who have been successful with their Honours sets formally receive their award and I was chuffed to bits to be amongst that group this year.  I can now add 'LPSNZ' to my achievements.  Chuffed to bits indeed!  

Back 'home' around 10.30 after a most enjoyable evening :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.