The second half of life..

By twigs

Sad sight

Awoke early to a very cold start.  With no gas in the van coffee was out of the question so I set off early towards Ranfurly hoping to refill the gas, find a spot then enjoy my morning cuppa.  The drive was slow and deliberate as I took in the gorgeous, wide open spaces, clear blue skies and stunning autumn colors.  This is Otago Rail Trail country and I was reminded of the time when I rode this trail a few years ago around almost every bend.  I think it has to go onto my 'do it again sometime' list.  The pace of the cycle trail is slow, but the roads are still fast and I was sooooo saddened by this site - the bird I'd like to capture in full flight lying motionless but un-blooded on the roadside.  Not far along was a possum or a rabbit or something so I assume he must have been feasting when he was blindsided by a vehicle.  Such a sad sight - they really are quite impressive birds close up.  I was very disappointed to find that Ranfurly didn't do refills and was told the nearest place to get it done was in Dunedin or Alexandra.  I continued my meander along this beautiful stretch of countryside, stopping for a lunch-coffee in Omakau  in the most stunning, warm weather......such a contrast to the early morning cold.  I eventually re-gassed at 4.30pm, drove a bit further along the road to Champagne Gully on the shores of the Clutha River where I finally got to boil some water for my coffee at around tea time!! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.