Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Welcome Home!

The first two sights to greet me this morning when I got up ... the bluebird pair working on their nest in the garden and the return of the first male Ruby-throated Hummingbird!  As much as I am sad to have said goodbye to all my Blip friends yesterday in Galveston, it is lovely to see all the action that's taking place in my garden.

It is a very cold, blustery day and I am badly fatigued, but I did a quick round of the nest boxes and discovered that the chickadees (after nesting in the woods last year) have built their nest in a box in the front garden again this spring.  There are still white-throated sparrows in the garden, all singing, although they will soon be gone. But they're being replaced by the petite and adorable Chipping Sparrows.  

The cherry trees are just past their peak bloom but there should be sufficient blooms to draw pollinators when it warms up tomorrow...just in time for this week's TinyTuesday.  Patches the red-winged blackbird (so named for his distinctive white side patch) was perched among the blooms this morning - I'll put him in Extra.

Today's choice had to the the hummingbird.  He was heading towards a feeder for a sip, but if you'll look closely, you'll notice a tiny insect at the edge of his mouth.  Hummingbirds eat insects, often robbing spider webs of tiny gnats, mosquitoes and flies.  And on occasion, you will even see them hunting on the wing.

Thank you again to all who joined me and my fellow blippers on our recent trip to coastal Texas.  I've not yet begun the momentous job of sorting through all my pics...

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.