Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

The First of May Tradition

Every year on the first day of May, traditional tiny bouquets of Muguet (Lily of the Valley) are sold everywhere in France and in Switzerland. I love this tradition as I love this tiny, fragrant flower and May is my birth month.

Here is the story behind the tradition, which started in France:

The tradition of giving lily of the valley flowers on May 1 is said to have begun in 1560, when knight Louis Girard presented King Charles IX with a bunch of lily-of-the-valley flowers as a token of luck and prosperity for the coming year.
It is said that he loved the idea and began the custom of presenting lily-of-the-valley flowers to the ladies of his court each year on the same day.
I love this tradition too and always honour it by getting one or two bunches of these flowers to decorate my home. The tablecloth is always on my small round table during the month of May!

The tiny pansies are from one of my window-boxes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.