Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Muguet Day: First of May

Here in Switzerland, it's tradition to buy or offer Muguet/Lily of the Valley on the first day of May. I love this charming habit, especially as it happens on the first day of the month in which I was born, so I can start celebrating today already!

The tiny white bells are so pretty against the dark green of their foliage. If you're fortunate enough to have a garden, you can grow them yourself! The florist departments are full of them. Of course they cost 'Les yeux de la tête'! (Translation: 'They cost the Eyes of the head', or more normally expressed in English as: 'They cost an arm and a leg'). Such fun to compare sayings from one language to another.

More interesting (perhaps):
Muguet – A May Day tradition dating back to 1561. The 1st of May in France is a holiday to celebrate labour day, and it also carries an even older tradition. ... Today families all around France get up early in the morning and go into the woods to pick the flowers and offer the little bouquets to loved ones and friends.

Another tradition: on the first day of May, I use the Muguet embroidered tablecloth on my small round table. Also, there's a fresh bar of Yardley's Lily of the Valley soap in my bathroom. I can't buy it here, so had to order it online!

Happy Muguet Day everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.