Seeing Beyond Looking

By SandraSuisse

Sweet Muguet for the First Day of May!

You may remember that it is a lovely tradition in many parts of Europe to offer, or buy for oneself, a small bouquet of Muguet (Lily-of-the-Valley) on the first day of May! Ideally, it would be wonderful to go and pick wild flowers if we know where to find them.

"The tradition of giving lily of the valley flowers on May 1 is said to have begun in 1560, when knight Louis Girard presented King Charles IX with a bunch of lily-of-the-valley flowers as a token of luck and prosperity for the coming year.
It is said that he took a shine to the idea and began the custom of presenting lily-of-the-valley flowers to the ladies of his court each year on the same day."

Thank you to AnniBikerBear for faithfully hosting Flower Friday.

Since I was out so early, as soon as the shops open, I also went to my local supermarket for the first time in seven weeks!  There were bottles of disinfectant everywhere and everything was extremely organized. There were only two other shoppers besides myself and the perfect time to go to the shop.


Extra:
For those who thought I wouldn't! I did go shopping with my mask and red nose at 7.30 am this morning. The pharmacist kindly took the photo for me behind her plexiglass protection!
I am holding my red purse to pay for my purchases with my debit card. Cards are preferred to cash these days.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.