Up for debate

PLEASE GO TO 

https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2438360234993911602  

for happy ending


(This is the opposite of a footnote! Please read Cailleach's comment below. The Blipteam have been in touch with her already, so lets keep our fingers crossed)

As I write this, Cailleach’s photohas had 3,452 views and has received 195 stars and 149 (sic) hearts. There have been 173 comments, all supportive. This is important for Blip.
 
As I understand it, Cailleach , who had been running the Wild Wednesday challenge,  proposed a change on 28March:
 
“And then I had an idea. We've all got old photos lying around....fading 35mm snaps, instant Polaroids, old family black and whites....which we can't backblip because we haven't a clue when they were taken.

What if we could post them here, with the associated stories/memories, once a week....re-photographing if necessary, to get round the 'taken today' rule?  

I've emailed the Head Blippers to make sure it's ok...and if they have no objection, I'm going to kick off next week with a photo of a pumpkin which is bigger than I am!

And adhering strictly to the alliteration rule....I'm calling the new challenge 'Whensday'. “
 
On 31 March she reported:
 
Unfortunately, the Head Blippers didn't share your enthusiasm, and I'm not being allowed to go ahead, as it would be breaking the 'taken on the day' rule. It's a shame....but one must abide by the bliplaws. For now....

However, I liked the name 'Whensday' so much, that I'm going to use it for some sort of challenge anyway....I just haven't worked out what.”
 
So far so good.
 
But Blip HQ, allegedly, responded by:
 
“reprimanding (their word, not mine) me for the threat to society that is..... the Whensday challenge.


They wrote that I have 'disappointed' Blip, by encouraging my followers to break Bliplaw by posting old photos, rather than ones taken on the day of posting, and I've to cease doing so immediately.”
 
The consequence has been that Cailleach has ceased to Blip. This has caused me to look at her journal for the first time and I have concluded that this would be a sad, sad loss to our mutual undertaking.
 
So what do I want? Well, I want Cailleach back in the fold ,obvs, and I want BlipCentral to acknowledge that maybe, just maybe, they went a bit over the top here. The team have been doing a great job sustaining and reinvigorating our joint enterprise  but "Even Homer nods" as the saying goes.  It would be a great shame if we can't
recover from this hiccup.
 
So lets all get together, have a group hug and acknowledge that the spirit of Blip is more important than a dogmatic allegiance to written rules.
 
For my Blip today I have chosen a photo of a photo of a photo. (That's me on the right)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.