Mr. and Mrs. Robin

It was pouring with rain this morning which coincided with the U3A Birdwatching outing.  I'm co-ordinator for the group and we had arranged to go to Wood Lane Nature Reserve where we could shelter in the hides. I didn't really feel like going in the rain, especially after a very late night but went as it's my responsibility to do so.  Unsurprisingly I was the only one to turn up!

There weren't many birds around so I went to Colemere (it was still pouring).  I was fortunate to see Mr. Robin give Mrs Robin a beakful of flies - for chicks I imagine. He was so fast that I didn't get a shot of the actual food pass.  I didn't hang around as I knew that she wouldn't go into the nest with me watching.

The extra is one of a pair of nuthatches gathering food together. Hopefully they have chicks too.

I walked around Colemere which was looking lovely with so many wild flowers around. The rain stopped as I got back to the car leaving a bright and sunny afternoon.  An afternoon trip would have been better!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.