Sevilla D6 - the art of eating

This is Eslava, one of Sevilla’s best tapas bars. Really busy place with a majority of locals (the guy that sat next to me has been coming here for 25 years and his recommendations for selections were spot on). The waiter Pepe, whom we befriended, was all smiles and very attentive. This might come in handy when we return as I noticed that ‘regulars’ were given priority on seating ;)

The schedule for eating is quite different. You start with breakfast at the appointed time. Then do your thing (work, school) then you have a ‘pausa’ around 11am for a quick coffee and montadillo (small sandwhich). You return to your business until 2pm when you break for el almuerzo (lunch and the most substantive meal of the day). That’s usually a two hour affair.   Back to business at hand until 5-ish when you take another break (la merienda) for coffee and something sweet. Dinner (la cena) takes place around 9pm and is usually light.

This all fits my own night owl schedule rather well!

A full day of classes today, including an unexpected listening practice session at a guided tour of a current exhibit of World Press Photos! That was a treat and I surprised myself at how much of the explanations I understood.  Maybe it's because I was familiar with most of the pictures featured? :) my brain is fried right now, so that’s all, folks!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.