The herring are 'running!'

We really know it's spring when the Alewives make their way from the Atlantic to the rivers. They are on their way back to where they were hatched, their goal is to spawn. It's a treacherous and arduous journey There is a beautiful, old 'run', a natural fish ladder in the town next to us where I taught for 26 years. I spent some time there today, in summer heat and brilliant sunshine. While photographing the fish I was marveling at their genetic determination. The sheer numbers queued up amazed me, a stream dark with fish waiting for their moment to jump the obstacles on their way back to their birth waters. It's a tough run up the rocks to quieter waters, and only the strong make it to spawn.

For the Record,
This day came in warm and was a very, very hot day. I had to install the upstairs window air conditioners. I hate their noise, but I cannot sleep in a hot bedroom.

All hands amazed at the leaves and flowering trees waking up this week.

See the extras for an explanation of the type of fish involved in this yearly struggle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.