Leaving Home

Miss L was up and dressed by 7am and itching to get to school to set off to the Frontier Centre.  Her bags were all packed and ready (a first in our house!!) so there was less stress than normal and we managed to get to school early.
As Miss L took her things to the car I was so struck by how grown up she looked. 
In a flash that'll be her off to University, or off round the world!!
We took her bags to the hall and she dashed off to her class with hardly a backward glance. I had to call her back for a proper kiss and a hug!!
Poor Miss E was very quiet - she's never really been apart from Miss L except when she's been on a sleepover and then, of course, she's too busy having fun to miss her sister!
The school had sent an email the other day to say that apart from a message to let us know that they had reached the Frontier Centre safely we would not be hearing from them. We could be assured that no news is good news and they'd be having a ball.
I am not an anxious parent and don't want to be receiving updates every five minutes but I must admit it was an odd feeling her watching her skip off with her friends and knowing I wasn't going to know anything about how she is,  or what she's doing, or even where she is until I see her again on Wednesday night.
From school I went to my mums and we took the dogs for a walk in the woods. 
The woods are looking spectacular at moment - a sea of bluebells. Even on a dull day like today it was breathtaking. Can't wait to see them in a bit of sun!
It was strange picking up Miss E for rock climbing and not going to get Miss L. We were so early I had time to go to the Post Office to post some eBay parcels! 
McDonalds for dinner  as usual after climbing for Miss E then we headed home, picking up Mr K from the bus stop on the way.
I asked did she want to snuggle up and watch something with us but she said in a small little sad voice that she just wanted to go to bed. Bless her.
I forgot to say that when we were packing Miss L's suitcase yesterday Miss E secretly put both halves of their Best Friends necklace into a tin with a little note and then sealed it all up with cling film. A little surprise for Miss L to find. 
When they're squabbling and irritating each other - and me - I must remember how much they do actually love each other!
So tonight we're a household of four. I didn't like seeing Miss L's room empty on my way to bed. I know she'll be fine and having a ball. But I'll be happy when she's home!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.