Hanging Highway

I woke up this morning on my shelf, nose just inches from the ceiling. It was 6am and my thoughts turned to the fact that I had to swing around (without being able to sit up), lower myself into the 10”* space between the beds and the wall and put on some clothes before venturing into the hallway to the bathroom. The big question was, did I then reverse the process and climb back into bed or did I just get up? After procrastinating a bit, I gave up and got up.

I found OilMan In the observation car where he had just spilled an entire cup of coffee all over himself and his seat...probably we should both have stayed in bed...all things considered, however, we slept quite well and figured out how to negotiate small spaces. All we needed to do was watch the AMTRAK staff who worked hard and with practiced skill.

We left the observation car when the fascinating slickrock formations turned to flat desert and tumbleweeds. We’re sure it was just about time for lunch, but it turned out it was 9am...

Today’s picture was taken yesterday in Glenwood Canyon where the train tracks, a. pedestrian/bike trail and the highway all skirt the Colorado River. It is quite a challenge to the imagination to think of the feats required to forge these routes through the Rockies. It took the Colorado River millennia to carve the Glenwood Canyon through the mountains. The old highway, the railway and the new highway were all built in the last century.

We were the only ones on the train to descend to the platform in Davis. We’re now on our way home to see Ozzie. Dana Jim are cooking dinner and then we can luxuriate in our own king sized bed....it was a great trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.