Unfurling

Dear Diary,

Much cooler this morning but that won't stop these hearty fellows from slowly unfurling.  Many years ago I stopped at the side of the road not far from my house and dug up a clump of fern.  I didn't expect it to survive the transplant but here it is 15 years later doing its thing every spring.  I also transplanted some fern from my late husbands old home and it has spread beautifully, filling in the front.  I do love fern.

We transplanted a tiny pine tree from his parents summer home in NH back in 1997 and it is quite tall now.  It seems quite content in its new location.  Way back in 1970 I created a tiny garden of transplants of wildflowers at my first apartment with my first husband.  He thought I was a bit bonkers but I loved the tiny garden.  He joked that his wife was the only one he knew that added weeds to a garden rather than removing them!  I guess "weeds" are in the eye of the beholder.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.