The Four Freedoms...finished!

Dear Diary,

I had planned to go out for a drive yesterday but since I had cleaned and opened up my art studio on Friday I decided to work in there and finish my little collage book of the Four Freedoms which I started over a month ago.  My goodness, it felt so good to be back in the studio puttering around, making "stuff".  As much as I love photography, and it will always be my primary vehicle of expression, I just have to get my hands involved in physically making something.  I come from a long line of "crafters" of various kinds so I guess it is in my blood.

I added little pull out elements which slide up from behind each collage with a personal thought.  I have always liked books that you can interact with; books that move in some way.  Now, I must get back to my Thoreau pop up book project.  I am creating a book called Kindred, Henry's name for the small animals he called his friends.  I've added a picture of my first efforts.  Henry's cabin pops up when you open the page.  That took a bit of paper engineering to figure out!  I've now created separate pages for each of Henry's kindreds.  It is great fun creating each page then the question will be what to do with it when it's finished but that has never been a problem for me.  For me the enjoyment is in the "making".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.