world labyrinth day

I only found out last week that today was World labyrinth day (as chosen by the World Labyrinth Society, naturally).

The idea was to join with thousands of people all over the world in walking a labyrinth at 1pm their local time, taking steps for peace, so that a rolling peaceful intention would go round the Earth all day.

Of course I couldn't walk our own labyrinth so looked to see if there were any in London. I knew about the one in the grounds of St Paul's Church at Covent garden, but there is also one in the City, atFen Court, on the site of a church which burned down in the Great Fire of London , which would fit in nicely with my planned morning visit to the Museum of London.

I was hoping that as the City is pretty empty at weekends, I'd have the place to myself ( or be in the company of other walkers for peace). Not so. All the seats were occupied by burly construction workers on their lunch break..

I decided not to be deterred. Just very quietly and peacefully walked the labyrinth while they all looked on...it was not my most mindful of walks!

Extra is the Minotaur who can be found near the Barbican.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.