No 300 leaves Rolvenden

Can a day be described as idyllic after the event or does it have to be as you experience it? I ask this question as yesterday was an idyllic day at Wittersham Road signalbox on the Kent and East Sussex Railway. It became idyllic looking back as I drove away at the end of the day.

Warm, sunny with plenty of solitude. Two engines in steam with the Terrier in charge of the resplendent Victorian set. What a partnership.

A crowd of people, 8, got off the train at Wittersham with one of the Railway Walks, that's as many as I've ever seen get off at this station.

As with each turn, you hope that everything works and runs to time. It wasn't quite perfect today as I had a little bother on one crossing as the cable running 800 yards to the home signal had stretched in the heat. I cannot easily see this signal so have a repeater in the box. If this hangs wrong I get an audible buzzer. The cables can be tightened, which I did and all was well. You have to remember to slacken them off at the end of the day else when they contract it might snap the cable.

Today we have No 300, the USE Tank leaving Rolvenden as a light engine, making it's way up to Tenterden for the first train. Then comes the Terrier in Rolvenden yard at the end of service and also the Terrier drifting down Wittersham Bank into the station.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.