Daffodils From Our Yard

It had been raining, and when I went out to check on my posies in the morning, I discovered that the rain had knocked a bunch of the daffodil blooms down. So out I went with a tray and some scissors, and I cut some of the fallen blooms.

This is the selection of blooms I had when I reached the front porch. I stopped to take a few pictures to document the event. Then I brought them inside, shook them off a bit, and put them in a vase.

I also ended up with a bonus: three rather small spiders who rode in on the blooms. Daffodil-riders, you might call them. And in fact, you may see one of the little spiders in the lower left, hiding behind the second-from-bottom stem. Shh, please don't scare it!

I took the tiny spiders outside and set them free on some of the plants around the front porch. Those who are spider-phobic of even TINY spiders might want to give each bloom a gentle shake before bringing them indoors.

The selection includes a few of my favorites, the poet's daffodil, very white with the round red center. Also, some "pink" ones, which actually turn out to be a pale peachy sunrise or sunset shade. And yellow, of course, for what would my world be like without sunny golden daffodils?

The soundtrack is a favorite song by Peter, Paul, and Mary, Where Have All the Flowers Gone.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.