Angel in the Sun

The late afternoon has some precious gifts, and the gorgeous light that shines through the back corner of our yard at that time of day is one of them.

I was done with work for the day, and I was sitting in the backyard, reading my book and watching for hummingbirds (yes, they're back!), when I noticed the poet's daffodils were shining out like lamps in the late-day sun.

And so this is one of my flowers, backlit by the sun. The centers of these beauties are outlined in a circle of red (which is why they are also called pheasant's eye) - you can catch just a glimpse of it near the top of the bloom.

I thought the flower looked like an angel, opening its heart to the sun.

The song . . .  it provokes such a mixture of feelings for me. I loved it when I first heard it. But then they used it in an animal abuse commercial, and it broke me; I could barely listen to it anymore.

But here's a video of the song performed live; if you pretend you've never heard it before, and really listen, it is as beautiful as it ever was: Sarah McLachlan, with Angel.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.