A bird on a wire

Leonard Cohen should have copyrighted those words :)

We both needed the weekend we have just had. Record breaking temperatures for May as well.

The swallows have returned. I still think of the arrival of our summer migrants as some kind of miracle. I understand all the science around it (well - quite a bit), but it still a thrill to hear singing swallows and warblers as we did today. They have crossed Africa and the European mainland to this island in the northern latitudes to mate and bring up their young, with all manner of perils on the way. 

Extra - crossing a field I suggested to J that we get to the gate on the other side quickly. Only a short distance, but a young bullock was looking agitated and just a bit too interested in us. I think I was right. As soon as we were through it was over. I took this on the right side of the gate before it came across. I never entirely trust cattle.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.