Elgol

Samuel Johnson said of Skye: "From the autumnal to the vernal equinox, a dry day is hardly known, except when the showers are suspended by a tempest."

Today was a bit like that, it rained during the whole time we were out but arriving back at base the sun, contrarily, came out. We drove down to Broadford because we hadn't been in that direction much except on the way to and from the bridge. We stopped near Loch Ainort, where there is a lovely waterfall beside the road. Samuel Johnson's tempest had just hit and against all common sense, I put my coat on and crossed the road to go up the hill a little way. I managed to get a couple of shots without rain on the lens and got back to the van just a little bit soaked. We carried on to Broadford and stopped for coffee and shared a lovely piece of chocolate cake. 

Again, against all sense, we decided to take the long single track road to Elgol. I've never been there and know that there's a great view of the Black Cuillins on a clear day, not today obviously. It is a lovely place though and one I look forward to coming back to another day. In my photo you can just see the outline of the Cuillins behind the upright rock. The dark shape to the left may be the island of Soay, where the sheep come from.


On our journey there, we stopped in a passing place to let a bus come past and beside the road a ewe had just that moment given birth to a lamb and we watched as she cleaned and saw it sit up to find teat to latch on to. Lovely!


I've got no moon or sun I'm afraid and not much likelihood but I'll tag it for Wideangle, Wednesday (hosted by BobsBlips of course).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.