Impression Of A Bluebell Wood

I was in the Panshanger Park bluebell wood at around 6:30 this morning. The park looked gorgeous under its blanket of mist. I was a bit disappointed by the bluebells. A woman who walks her dog here twice a day told me that they were late to bloom, spindly and not as blue as usual. I should have come earlier. Many were starting to go brown but I still got that thrill from seeing drifts of blue in the dappled sunlight.

I put my long lens on and did a second circuit hoping for wildlife and got wrens, squirrels, jackdaws and a jay. I've decided to post the above pic taken with the 400mm of a spaniel well in the distance as I think the image conveys the magic of a bluebell wood early in the morning without revealing the shortcomings of the past-their-best blooms.

My daughter visited when I got home and we had a lovely automotive related interlude. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.