Goodbye Ely…

Driving to the train station this morning in Funen (M’s Citroen HY Van, named after a holiday we took in Denmark some years ago), I had one final glimpse of Ely Cathedral. And what a beautiful morning it was, only 9am and yet already 20 degrees. Stepping off the train in Kings Cross, the warmth hit me. At 24 degrees, it felt like Summer in London! A straight forward tube journey to Paddington to take the train to Bath (I was lucky, the previous Bath train had been cancelled due to the heat affecting the rails). Unlike my arrival in London, arriving in Bath the cold hit me, sunny but only 13 degrees! In the length of a 90 mins train journey, the temperature had nearly halved! A short hop on my fourth and final train took me home, where it was time to put my feet up with welcome home cuddles from a fluffy cat…

Total journey time door to door = 5 hours
(If M hadn’t had to drop me off early as he had a meeting, the journey would have taken 4½ hours, that would have been another new world record!)

(Final backblip of my trip to Ely)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.