Shallow

Often I don't know which picture I will choose for the day, though having already established a favorite. Then, when hovering over the files before the upload, sometimes a thumbnail image will stand out more than an another.

Yesterday was the turn of the 28.  Wide enough to get a lot in the image, but problematic not to get the door sills or rear view mirrors in the frame.  

Today was the 50.

I set a tough set of ground rules for myself when in the car. 1) no bad mojo, i.e. don't be blatant and the Bruce Gilden of the situation - it doesn't work for me. 2) avoid through the window shots, i.e. I am shooting from the side mainly with the window down. 3) don't wreck the car or get a ticket, i.e. focus distance is by muscle memory only (focus tab on the lens) and very loose point and shoot with the arm outstretched, while looking at the road, not at the subject.  As you can imagine, the results are very very variable.  More throw away shots than keepers.

Anyway, it is a fun game and allows me to make a few pictures on work days when no other possibilities in sight.  I shot 8 pictures going and returning today. 2 I deleted immediately in camera at the stop light. 2 I deleted immediately after I downloaded. 2 I worked up in LR. 2 are just there in limbo, but no courage to delete.  Sometimes these get resurrected when I am uploading to Flickr and I can see through to the potential of the photo.  That's not often, but it happens.  

So from today's favorite of a runner passing a striped crosswalk with strong contrasts and perfect focus, I landed on the second picture of a lady on her telephone waiting on the tram. The focal distance was about 1.2 meters just outside of my window and with the aperture wide open.  I missed critical focus (by a few cm's! which is on her arm instead of her face) and so in theory a throw away... The strong contrast of the sky in the center between buildings and the detail of the weave on the jacket brought me back.

?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.