Point of Desire

You know you want me, buddy!  I am red and flashy. You'll stand out from the crowd... I look fast too dressed in my best red suit! And you won't see many others like me. I'm what you would call limited, that's "limited edition" to you and anyone who asks you about me. thphbtphbtphbt.

OK, just a bit of practice for next Monday's MM173 challenge, and very poorly done indeed!!!  Now the back story, this red beauty is a limited edition red anodized 50mm F2 APO lens that belongs to Mr. Watynabe. Very desirable and very pretty.  AND, there it rests in Mr. Watynabe's store window.  It is his, and he's not selling it!  Thankfully!!  :)

First, I would like to thank everyone who has participated in this weeks MonoMonday Challenge #MM172 Le Regard Oblique.  WHAT A DOOZY.  I am so appreciative of everyone who made the attempt to meet this challenge.  There were several more entries this week and it was quite a challenge to make a selection.  Starting from +88 entries tagged MM172, more than 30 made the first round, then 20 then I have been sitting in front of the screen now for half hour trying to make a final decision to which images best match the given theme even though I like a lot more - either for effort or imagination or some combination.  I am no trained photo editor and so I am putting my best foot forward and wearing my heart on my sleeve.

Here are my favorites (in no particular order):
SnapperJude - There is something very cinematic about this picture...
Mario - He and MrsPuff made a very similar setup to Doisneau's original idea. I had to pick one!
KangaZu - Very strong image and feeling a bit nostalgic for the Appalachians and my youth!
isbi - a bit of film noir theme maybe and the leading lines are wonderful combined with un regard oblique.
chrisphoto - hey hey! A bird photo made it into the final cut!!

Honorable mentions (in no particular order):
MrsPuff - Yes, I liked this very much too! :)
steveng - This is a very sweet regard oblique.
asburydan - More nostalgia? The main photo doesn't really show much of an oblong look, but is nice in the indoor/outdoor combination which sets up his extra shot - WHICH should have been the main entry where there are interesting oblique gazes in the window reflection.
MerrilHope - In the music room, a bit more complicated to read the image, but very rewarding.
Anneli - though a simple image looking through a glass door and the boy looking directly at the camera, there is a reverse feeling of the photographer looking obliquely out the window that is hard to shake.

For #MM173 "Unlocking Inspiration" ALT "Storytelling", I have made an entry in the BlipFoto Community Challenges section which you can find here.  It shouldn't be too hard for you to do better than my lame attempt above.  :)  I'll try to post another practice photo on Sunday.

Happy Blipping!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.