Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Just a little more blue...

I had to go with these perfect, beautiful Eastern Bluebird eggs today.  Madame laid her last egg yesterday so her clutch is set at 5.  Doing the math, that means that in less than 2 weeks, there will be a flurry of activity as both parents begin to feed babies.  Again, doing some math, I should be back from our trip out west just in time for fledge, hopefully.  This shot was taken by inserting my iPhone into the slot at the top of the box's viewing panel, snapping two quick shots, and withdrawing.  I waited until I saw Madame leave the nest before approaching, and was heavily supervised by both parents when I did the box check.  

I spent much of the day at High Point State Park, which is New Jersey's highest point in terms of elevation, offering sweeping views for miles.  It is always usually a great place for nesting warblers, but I think I was a bit early as the trail where there is usually a lot of activity was eerily quiet today.  The only highlight was seeing my first Ruffed Grouse - I rounded a corner and got the quickest glimpse as it took off.  Hiked a few miles, drove many more, saw some interesting birds, got no usable shots, but did have a very enjoyable day.  

Oh, good grief!  I just saw that this is my 2,500th blip!  Well, I can't think of a better choice for the milestone than a box of eggs.  I waited for such a long time to attract bluebirds to my garden, and this being their fifth brood in 3 years ... well, that's a milestone of its own.  Yay, us!  And thanks to Beckett for pointing out that there is one egg for each 500 blips!

Two pairs of chipping sparrows were seen gathering nesting materials which can only mean that we'll be treated to the unspeakably adorable babies sometime in June.  And P-Hummie has staked out a perch right above his favorite feeder, well situated to launch attacks against his nemesis, Attila the Hummie.  Lady hummingbirds have been seen quietly coming and going, which bodes well for an active July/August.  More to celebrate.

Cheers!

Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.