WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Restored

This Belle Epoque canalside villa in Narbonne was covered in scaffolding for months. I hadn't been past in a while and noticed today that it is now resplendently restored with beautiful detailing. I'm not sure what the metalwork bas-reliefs on the wall represent.

I was in Narbonne for a concert by the Funambule trio and oud player Alaoua Idir, because I was intrigued by the combination of flute, saxophone, tuba, and oud. I was glad I went because the music was the kind I like, and the  musicians were excellent -- especially tuba player Laurent Guitton. It turns out that tuba and oud work particularly well together -- who  knew? You can listen to some samples and find out more here.

There was a good turnout (even if some people left after fifteen minutes, evidently finding it not to their taste). Among the audience were B and a bunch of her friends. Which was good because I'd been trying to phone her to see if she wanted to go to this very concert, but her phone appeared to be out of order.

The weather has changed yet again ... when I left home it had been overcast and completely still. Driving home -- not so much. Rain and 90 kph headwind off the Pyrenees. So a cosy night in is forecast.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.