The accidental finding

By woodpeckers

White clematis in flat light

Would you believe it? I downloaded a conferencing app on my phone, went to London for a conference, and left my phone at home!

So, no photos of Bloomsbury or Paddington station. I'm sad about that, but it was sort of raining anyway...

The conference was that of the WEA (Workers' Educational Association, a charity providing adult education at a local level) linked by video to other WEA conferences simultaneously taking place in Edinburgh and Salford. What with voting taking place, and a few tech hitches, there were the odd few jokes about the Eurovision Song Contest, which is taking place as I write.

I'm glad I went: so many people to meet, discussions and workshops to participate in, and I got a much better idea of what is happening in other regions and branches. We passed a few new resolutions, too, and debated others.

Afterwards, I went into the large bookshop opposite our venue, which is now Waterstone's, but which used to be my beloved Dillon's. My eye was caught by a slim volume entitled The Ministry of Nostalgia. I must check out the reviews before deciding whether to buy.

I wandered aimlessly until I reached Russell Square tube, and then headed back to Paddington. Didn't see my friend Sylvia on the return train journey, but we'd spent the morning ride to London catching up, having bumped into each other in carriage A. Instead, I read Emma, the one by Jane Austen. I'm supposed to have read half of it by Tuesday.

Right now, though, it's Rebus we're watching, and probably Eurovision during the ad breaks.

No blip yesterday, there weren't any spare moments.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.