Clematis

We managed a lie in until nearly 9. I really needed it, although I woke at about 6, 7 and 8, but forced myself back to sleep each time.

Once up we had breakfast in the garden. It was warm and sunny to begin with, so we made the most of it. Jon took Henry to get him a new phone, while I cleaned the bathroom, did some washing and went out to Morrisons. Saturday morning was heaving in there, so I'm sticking to my Friday nights in future.

I took the dog out to the allotment to see how things were growing. Slowly is the answer - Oh, unless you are a thistle, then you are doing magnificently!! Then it started to rain, and my washing was out, so I had to rush back. A short walk for Bracken unfortunately.

I had to get diesel, so dropped back in to Morrisons where Jon and the scouts were coming to the end of their 2 hour bag packing shift. All donations go towards the Norjam camp this summer. I sifted through their change buckets to see if there were any interesting 50p or £2 which I don't have, but sadly none. Then I did get a bit excited when I found one of the new 10p coins - it is 'S' for Stonehenge. Its the first one ive seen. I haven't bothered buying a collectors album from the Royal Mint as I think they will be really hard to find. I kept it anyway, and will keep looking for the other 25...

Cooked a nice chicken Korma for dinner while it rained heavier outside. Then I enlisted Henry's help to complete my 'book'. To cut a long story short, he took some photos, one of which I used for the cover, and I've just spent over 2 hours finalising the bits and getting the cover uploaded. I am reasonably- no, very happy with the end result and now I'm waiting for Amazon to email me to say it's ok to be published. I might actually get this project to a finish!! I can't wait to see it as a proper book. I will be telling everyone when it's ready!! Not sure how many 9 year olds will read it, but I suspect a few 50 plus year olds may be curious...

One thing from yesterday that I forgot to mention. Jon had a successful trip to the council offices where he had a useful chat to a planning officer about our garage alterations. They said he can do it all himself and they only need us to fill in a form and pay £270. So we feel fired up to get on and do it...although quite when he will find time I don't know. We will probably still enlist the builder to cut through from the garage to the dining room, plus an electrician for the lighting. It shouldn't cost anywhere near as much as the builders quote though, so that will be good.

My lovely clematis has flowered so I had to get a picture. Unfortunately as the caravan is in front of the house, it's not easy to see it. I quite like this side view anyway!

Off to bed now as an early start, with a drive to Manchester and back tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.