Keeping an eye out

Not sure what the officer was checking for though.  I've been down on the dock hundreds of times, seen many boats tied up here, and this is the first time I've seen the police checking a boat.  I watched him go down the ramp, knock on the boat, and say, "Take your time" after someone responded to the knock.  I walked up by the passenger walkway to the ferry, and he was still waiting.  There was another woman watching, and she reckoned that the police often check boats for drug smuggling, especially if they've been tracking where the boat comes from.  An older man eventually appeared, talked to the officer, then went below and came back to show him some kind of document.  I guess everything was in order because the officer left soon after.  I wondered about posting this and cropped it so that the name of the boat wasn't showing.
A productive day.  I sanded about 2/3 of the inside of the fence and G sanded the top parts of the boards and the caps.  I should be able to finish the rest on Monday, then the outside will have to be sanded before we paint it.  Almost there!  There isn't as much wear on the outside.  I also emptied 3 of the tomato planters to turn the soil and turned the soil in one of the bigger veggie beds. Bonus - don't have to make supper because G's taking me out for Mother's Day tonight!  A little less busy than places will be tomorrow.  Off to get ready....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.