Remembering Four Mothers

Dear Diary,

Today is Mother's Day.  Although you can only have one birth mother, you can have lots of mother figures in your life.  This photo is of my breakfast room and the other day I realized that it contains things from my four "mothers"...my birth mother, my grandmother, my dear Auntie and my friend Dotty who was very like a mother to me for nearly 20 years after I moved to Maine.

The textile collage I made for my grandmother and has her tatting shuttle and writing included.  The quilted placemat was made by my mother and some of her salt cellar collection is there, the tiny framed piece on the right was given to me by Dotty and the carnival glass pieces and oil lamp were my Aunties.  Every morning while I am eating my breakfast these wonderful women are looking over my shoulder.  I have so many memories of all of them that it would take a book to tell them all.

I will bring a bouquet of daffodils to Dotty's grave today and thank her for her wonderful companionship all those years and I will be visiting Mom, Dad and Gram next Sunday when I plant the cemetery.  Auntie is always in my heart even if I can't get to her grave.  

So on this day of honoring Mothers I will remember the four women who shaped my life in so many ways.  I have been so fortunate to have had them all in my life.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.