Yin and Yang

Dear Diary,

This morning it is the complimentary personalities of Rosie and Gaylord at the seed bowl.  While Gaylord calmly sits and eats his seeds, Rosie gives Hover a good chase 'round and 'round.  Their little blurry forms serve as a great contrast to the solid, unmoving shape of Gaylord.

Ever since visiting a Taoist monastery in China in 2002 and learning about the importance of the Yin/Yang element of the philosophy, I've been on the look-out for these complimentary pairings.  Yes, they are "opposites', like two sides of a coin, but each is necessary and is not complete without the other.

For me, it is not "either/or" but "either/and".  Frantic energy and peaceful calm, we hold places for both and the two complete the harmony.  My, I am in a very philosophical mood this morning!  I will be packing and preparing to drive south tomorrow for a few days of socializing and visits.  I will be a bit like Rosie and Hover, running from place to place catching up with everyone.  On Sunday I will revert to my inner Gaylord and return to the quiet of Maine...yin and yang.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.