Arundel - There but not there

We stopped in Arundel today and wandered around the town, bought Italian pastries and visited Arundel Cathedral.

Arundel lost 97 local soldiers in WW1 so the Cathedral had 97 perspex silhouettes seated along the pews along with a Poppy and engraved name block at each spot. The overall effect was quite moving. (extra)

World renowned organist D'Arcy Trinkwon happened to be rehearsing whilst we were there and the music added to the atmosphere. He was playing some "mad" piece which was a loud combination of rock and gothic (to my untrained ear) 

I was caught up the the music and atmosphere and welling up emotionally when a young man started to call out to Mr Trinkwon telling him he was making an almighty racket and spoiling the ambience for visitors.

Mr T was alarmed and an argument followed. I leapt to his defense, declaring how moved and tearful I felt. The young man then described me as "posh" and stormed out.

A little later, we spotted a poster advertising the Organ Recital and just as we were (childishly) sniggering over the organist's name, he appeared before us to discuss Bach, Langlais and Franck. As I had procaimed my admiration for his playing, he assumed I knew something about it! Luckily a real fan joined us so we made our escape.

It was very funny and my sisters enjoyed the tale. (My sister, Jen, is an pianist - she could have engaged in a sensible conversation...)  

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.