Flowers In Your Hair

By bethanyanne

This is Kaitlyn again. We went on a spontaneous adventure today and found this beautiful place hidden off of the road.

It's been one year since my grandfather died today. I had a conceptual piece all planned out but for so many reasons I couldn't make it work. I asked Kaitlyn if she wanted to help, desperately hoping to make something good happen. We ended up shooting in a cemetery for about an hour, freezing cold, and my tripod broke and my camera wouldn't let me focus. We didn't end up getting any that I think are worthy of the idea. I really wanted to do something in memory of my grandfather, but as usual, I can't execute the ideas in my head. I guess I'm glad I made the effort, though. I'm so thankful for Kaitlyn and her help and support, and her willingness to be so flexible and cooperative whenever I have an idea.

After that, we just sort of drove around and explored a bit. I'm glad we did. This place is beautiful.

Aside from that, I met my family at our usual bar in Montague and we had a toast to grandpa at the time he passed away. It was really nice. I think it'll be a new tradition.

All that aside, I actually am happy with this picture. Even though it wasn't what I wanted to do today. I think I'm still going to try for a memorial picture for grandpa. It doesn't have to be on the anniversary of his death. It'll mean just as much to me any other day.

Actually, I might do a little series to be honest, about grandpa and another person in my life that passed away last November, my friend Kaylin. I think November will always be a time for me to miss them. So I think I'm going to try to make something creative and good come out of that through pictures.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.