Mail to Messy

By Horomaka

Destined to Rise

I'm back on the graffiti theme today after a brief respite, and like my previous blips here and here I'm featuring a wonderful piece by local Christchurch professional graffiti artist Wongi. This time it's the Phoenix Wall (with production byFreak, Ikarus & Yikes) at the junction of Colombo and Brougham Streets.

I first photographed this wall back in April when it was significantly different. Like other murals in Christchurch this one had been defaced (ironically by taggers) so the artist has had to go back and augment the original with new content to cover the scrawl of the ignorant.

The Embassy Wall was another which fell victim to vandalism. A crying shame at best, a flagrant disrespect of a piece of beautiful public art at worst. Let's just say it makes my blood boil!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.