Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Train day

Well, I have had a bit of a crazy day - and you can see I'm posting later than usual because of it.

This morning I hopped on a train to Woking to meet up with my son.  It was really lovely to see him, even though we had boring solicitor stuff to talk over and central Woking isn't my favourite place to spend a beautiful summer day!  So after we'd had coffee and a long talk I got back on the train and - thanks to a sudden rush of blood to the head - sailed right through Winchester and got off in Brockenhurst instead to catch the small chuffa to Lymington, where I had a walk in Pennington Marshes in glorious late afternoon sun.

That of course is when I realised that despite only having got my bluebell yesterday, on the coast the summer wildflowers are beginning,  with clovers, vetches, etc, growing all over the slopes of the sea defences.  This is red clover (trifolium pratense), a member of the pea family, though in this shot it reminds me more of a rhododendron.  The vague white shape to the left of picture is the Isle of Wight ferry coming in.

So sorry about all the wildflowers if they're not really your thing, I'll try not to get too repetitive, but this does seem to be one of those moments.

Enjoy what's left of your evening  xx

2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze)
Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot
Primroses
Blackthorn (may)
APRIL
Greater periwinkle
Goat willow
Ground ivy
Cowslips
Daisy
Common field speedwell
Wood anemone
Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock)
Yellow archangel
Common dog violet
Crab apple
Bluebell
Red clover

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.