Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Local Woods

The weather forecast for Sunday doesn't look good,so I go for my final training ride before the big event next Sunday. 125km down to the Scottish Borders. I'm notgoing to describe the ride in every turn detail.

I head SW to West Linton. the wind seemed to be in my face the whole way there. At least from West Linton, there didn't seem to be much wind, until I turnon to the A72 to head east. The wind is in my face again. I turn off the A72 to access Cademuir, which brings me in to Peebles from the south. 

I don't actually go through the centre of Peeble, but turn right on to the B road to Traquair. A very quiet B road that follows the River Tweed past Kailzie and Cardrona, until Traquair House. Then its south for a wee bit, until I hit the B709.

The B709 goes through Innerleithen, then up, and up. It goes past the real Glentress to the Piper's Grave, before heading down to the B7007, which takes me up to the Granites, then down to the A7. Only for a wee bit, I tun off at North Middleton, the take to road to Gladhouse Reservoir. From there, its north to the top gear road, the B6372.  Its up over Mount Lothian, down to Auchendinny. From there it up to Auchendinny Brae to the A701, then the Seafield Moor Road and home.


The whole ride can be seen at Relive here.

Not much time in the afternoon, so my partner and I head in to Morningside for a quick browse around the charity shops, and for afternoon coffee.

As I didn't have time to get my blip on the bike ride, and because the weather is still very nice, I head up to some nearby woods. The sun looks lovely shining through the trees.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.