Explore, Dream, Discover

By Snowcycle

Union Canal

A cool morning for my bike ride, and there is a slight breeze. My last training ride before Etape Caledonia in Pitlochry next week. I head out of Edinburgh through Lasswade road to Lasswade and Bonnyrigg. The climb between to twowee towns is quite a challenge. At Bonnyrigg I follow National Cycle Route 1. Aquite road through Carrington and Middleton and up to the Granites the shorter and steeper route.

There is a descent, but the breeze slows me down. The next climb is in to the wind. I am hoping that soon it will be on my back, but it doesn't. I pass the Piper's Grave, then follow the road down to Innerleithen. Again, not speedy because of the wind. A bit of a respite from the wind because the next part is tree lined. However it is uphill to Peebles. A group of cyclists pull away from me. Much to be said for taking turns in to the headwind.

Lovely sunshine. I don't have time to stop to take a photo of Innerleithen as I pass Traquair House. the road to Cardrona is only slightly uphill, then there's quite a climb as I pass Kailzie. I have a virtual training partner on my GPS, and they beat me to the top of the climb by 1 second. Then it's mainly downhill to Peebles, where I head south around Cademuir.

The wind has veered around to the west, so perhaps I should have done the ride anticlockwise. As the ride is slower than expected, I alter the ride. No time for West Linton. On the A72, I head west until I get to Lyne, then head north. I am heading north, the clouds are heading north, why is the wind in my face?

So over the Meldons to Eddleston to the A703,which is pretty bumpy here,and then to the Falla Toll road, passing Gladhouse reservoir to the Top Gear road. I head west over Mount Lothian. I had thought about going through Penicuik to avoid Auchendinny Brae, but it is quite late. Heading north through Loanstone to Auchendinny is the fastest way home. a long fast downhill, where the north wind won't slow me down too much.

The Brae does, but at least it avoids Penicuik, and I am on the A701, on to the Seafield Moor Road to Hillend, then home. 113.4km and 1,267m worth of climbing.

The whole ride can be seen at Relive here.

In the afternoon my partner and I go down to Morningside, we visit the charity shops that are open, and also for afternoon coffee and cake. Afterwards, as the weather is so nice, we continue walking down to Tollcross, and then on to the canal. It is very busy. It doesn't take long for the urban landscape to disappear behind green. The blip is taken on a section just before Harrison Park. Time to head home. A normal 2 day weekend, and a 5 day working week. Eeek!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.