ABSTRACT THURSDAY - DISTORTION

I have a busy day today because we have friends coming for a meal tonight and there is lots to do - so a quick Blip was needed for this morning.  I used the RollWorld app on my iPhone to take this photograph, which will eventually become a Rhubarb and Orange Crumble, with rhubarb grown and nurtured  by Mr. HCB. 

I will have to confess to our male guest though, that my custard will be coming out of a carton and will not be made from scratch, as he always does!  I wonder if would even know if I don’t tell him? Mmmmm.

The main course is venison cooked in red wine - and a whole bottle was used - with onions and juniper berries, served with red cabbage cooked in red wine vinegar with apples and sultanas, carrots, broccoli and peas and to mop up the wonderful gravy, mashed potato.

I need to do a bit of clearing up before they come, so better get on - Mr. HCB is busy in the garden, but no doubt will help in the kitchen later, if needed.

Whilst preparing the vegetables, I listened to “The Book” by Keith Houston on Radio 4 explaining how illuminated scripts were written, including the Book of Kells - I used to do calligraphy, so it was fascinating to listen to - and interesting to know that the cloisters, which were always cold, housed scriptoria, where the monks did their writing.  That they managed to do such beautiful writing with freezing cold hands is amazing to me.  They were not allowed to speak to each other - but I can understand that, because when I used to be writing a long piece, I never liked being spoken to - it made me lose my concentration.  

I’m sure there are many who still practise the art of calligraphy, but sadly the computer with various calligraphic fonts, has taken over for many people - I guess because it is quicker, but it is also “perfect” and uniform in its size and spacing.  Is that progress?  I used to love writing Wedding Invitations for friends - and even the best computer can’t compare, to my mind, with something handwritten, but perhaps I am “old school”.  

Better get on now - still lots to do - I didn't mean to muse like this, but the programme got me thinking, as it is meant to do, of course!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.