Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Three-cornered leek

Today was my Old Gent's annual Blind Veterans' lunch.  This was held at the Tyrrells Ford Country Inn near Christchurch in the New Forest.  I did take photos down there, mainly for OG's daughter, so she can see what he's been up to ;)) but although the organisation was taking pics for their own social media pages, I always feel a bit doubtful of exploiting, for blips, someone I'm supposed to be volunteering to help.

So.. I took a quick shot of this three-cornered leek down by the streamside when I got home.  It gets its name from its stem, which has three sides.  It's about the size of a bluebell but you can tell it's part of the lily family, can't you - and if you could smell it you'd also know it's closely related to garlic!  I particularly love it for the green stripe down each petal.

And that's me for tonight.  Enjoy your evening  xx

2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze)
Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot
Primroses
Blackthorn (may)
APRIL
Greater periwinkle
Goat willow
Ground ivy
Cowslips
Daisy
Common field speedwell
Wood anemone
Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock)
Yellow archangel
Common dog violet
Crab apple
Bluebell
Red clover
Germander speedwell
Three-cornered leek

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.