Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Germander speedwell

Veronica chamaedrys

I found this as the base of St Catherine's Hill.  It's different from the common field speedwell posted last month, different shaped leaves, slightly taller and flowering in spikes as you can see.  Also flowering on the Hill - and everywhere else as far as I can see, is the hawthorn.  Beautiful!

It's been cold and rather windy, which I thought might cause me trouble with wildflowers today, but here I got lucky.  Just as well, I have a long day tomorrow (therefore an early night tonight!)

Have a good one  xx

2018 wildflowers to date:

JANUARY
Snowdrops
FEBRUARY
Gorse (or furze)
Wild daffodils
MARCH
Coltsfoot
Primroses
Blackthorn (may)
APRIL
Greater periwinkle
Goat willow
Ground ivy
Cowslips
Daisy
Common field speedwell
Wood anemone
Greater celandine
MAY
Cuckoo flower (or lady’s smock)
Yellow archangel
Common dog violet
Crab apple
Bluebell
Red clover
Germander speedwell

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.