Eiger Eiger Burning Bright

(With apologies for the title to William Blake).

A superb start to the day. Despite the fact we (Annie and good friend) woke up to a thick layer of cloud over the view from our hotel window, the hotel is so beautiful, and breakfast so lovely, that we didn't mind. Gradually bits of cloud shifted, to reveal bits of mountain (like a girl demurely lifting her skirt to reveal an ankle)...

A lazy morning in the spa - then it was back to work for my friend poor thing, while I headed further into the mountains for an overnight stay near Meiringen. The scenery is just stunning around there, with lush green hills, tall cascading waterfalls and sheer cliff faces. I do like to get a quick fix of mountain every now and then. The blip is the fabulous white faces of the Eiger, just popping its head through the clouds to greet me on my hotel balcony. It’s the small white peak in the base of the “V” - it’s far away, not at all small!

I'm up the mountain above Meiringen, to get a bit of height to my view. The hotel is right next to a cable car, so in the afternoon I popped down into the town for some food, and back up on the 18:08. Locals use it as an extended train service, but being out of tourist season I was one of very few people on it both ways. In fact, I'm the only person staying in the hotel tonight - so at least the WiFi is responsive!

A day of soaking in mountain air tomorrow, and getting some space back in my head. It's Mental Health Awareness week in the UK, and it's important to make sure we all take the time, big or small, to look after ourselves. No one else is really able to do it for us.

After my fill of mountains, I'm happy to say Chris will be joining me for the weekend! Hoorah.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.