Sheep!

Sometime in 1991 I started working with a guy called Donal Linehan. He had such a strong Southern Irish accent that, at first, I simply couldn't understand what he was saying.

But I'd been here before; in 1985, when I started at Liverpool University, there were a couple of local lads on my course, Pete and Jocky. Pete I could understand but Jocky's accent was impenetrable. So I would ask him to write things down until, after a few weeks, I couldn't remember what my problem had been. 

So I took the same approach with Donal and we became good friends. He had an endearing habit of verbalising anything that caught his attention and I remember once, when we were driving somewhere, him simply saying "sheep". How odd that's stayed with me all these years.

And as I was driving to the office, this morning, and pulled over to take this picture, I found myself thinking of Donal and reflexively saying "sheep".

****
-15.1 kgs
0 words
Reading: 'Reality Is Not What It Seems'

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.